Anniversary Gift Idea

EDIBLE ARRANGEMENTS

In a couple weeks, Jay and I will have the one-year anniversary of the day we met. Sorry to disappoint anyone, but I am not the kind of person who sentimentally remembers such dates. I did not write down date in the hopes that, in a year, we would be a happy couple, reminiscing about how we first met. To be honest, I completely forgot about it, and for a long time, was not even sure what month we met in. I assumed it was March or April… or at the very latest, May. To put it succinctly, I did not remember the date of our first encounter, so much as I ‘discovered’ it.

I figured out our anniversary when something unrelated reminded me that it might be coming up. See, last week was the anniversary of a short residential program I participated in, where I got to leave the country and study foreign direct investment in developing nations. The other participants were planning a reunion to discuss… things that aren’t interesting for the purposes of this blog. The point is, that I remembered I met Jay right after returning from that trip, so our one year anniversary must be coming up too. I managed to figure out the exact date by looking at my credit card statement from a year ago, and finding transactions from the places I had gone the day I met Jay.

I don’t view anniversaries as a huge deal, but I do view them as an opportunity to buy gifts, and I freaking LOVE buying gifts. And the moment I realized Jay and I had an anniversary coming up, I knew one thing I was going to get him for sure: an Edible Arrangements*, delivered to work.

I know what you are thinking: ‘Yeah, I’ve hear of Edible Arrangements, but it’s nothing to get so excited about.’ Wrong. Getting an Edible Arrangements delivered to you at work is the best gift ever because it’s the perfect combination of:

1) stuff you can eat and

2) making other people jealous.

Think about it. The main draw to an Edible Arrangements is that it makes a minor scene when it’s delivered to you. You get to act all surprised and humble, like “Oh? For me? I wonder who this could be from…” Then for the rest of your day you are just a little more important than everyone else.

There are a few problems with this gift idea, though. Initially, I thought I was totally set. But then I recalled the last time I ordered an Edible Arrangements. I remember it being kind of expensive… But there was something else that made me mad when I ordered it, and I couldn’t remember what that was. Then it hit me; Edible Arrangements was expensive AND a lot smaller than it looked on the website. The pictures they show are all of the medium sizes, so they look respectable. But if you order a small (the only size even close to reasonably priced), it is substantially smaller than you would expect. It’s almost a hundred bucks (even the little ones are that much if you count delivery fee, tax, and the fact that any arrangement without chocolate dipped fruit is not even worth considering), and for that amount, I want an intimidating amount of fruit- an almost unmanageable amount of fruit. I want an amount of fruit that will cause a problem for Jay at work. Like his boss will come over and be like, “What’s going on? What is all this fruit doing here? Get this fruit out of here!”

The more I looked at the Edible Arrangements, I started thinking of my mom’s catch phrase: I bet I could make that. However in her case, it’s usually true. In my case… I’m not so sure. I’m more of a buyer than a maker. But this Edible Arrangements thing looks do-able. It’s just fruit on sticks. I think.

If I make it myself, I can put more awesome stuff in it, like extra chocolate strawberries and rice krispie treats cut in the shape of stars. That stuff all costs extra if you order it from EdibleArrangements.com.

If this idea works out, I’ll post an awesome picture of it. If it doesn’t work out, I’ll post a hilarious picture of it, and request ideas for other anniversary gifts.

*I maintain that the singular of Edible Arrangements is Edible Arrangements. Edible Arrangements is a company name, so “an Edible Arrangements” is any product from Edible Arrangements, which may include any particular arrangement, or any other product they sell. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Anniversary Gift Idea

Leave a Reply

